It is vital to remember that following a vegan diet means adopting a more environmentally conscious lifestyle that avoids everything that includes animal suffering or exploitation.
As a result, the types of clothes a vegan person wears, as well as the cosmetics they use and other aspects, change. It should also be emphasized that the most typical transition is from vegetarian to vegan, which makes the transition easier.
It's always a good idea to ask what the benefits of veganism are before starting any kind of diet. Although it is sometimes stated that a diet high in vegetables is particularly healthful, vegan diets should not be limited to vegetable alternatives alone.
These are diets that provide a variety of protein sources as well as the other nutrients required for a well-balanced diet.
The main guidelines of a vegan diet are that it must be devoid of all animal-derived products. The urge to begin this diet may be motivated by environmental, ethical, or even health concerns.
Many people adopt these types of diets to reduce weight or control blood sugar levels for health reasons, such as, people with diabetes.
What's the difference between veganism and vegetarianism?
The restriction of animal goods is the fundamental distinction between a vegan and a vegetarian diet.
While a vegan will not consume anything of animal origin, including animal by-products such as milk, eggs, honey, and so on, a vegetarian will be allowed to consume these things whether they are vegan or vegetarian, excluding only meat, fish, and seafood.
Legumes, vegetables, grains, and fruits are commonly found in vegan diets. Here’s a list we have built of what you can eat as a vegan:
- Legumes: beans, soybeans, chickpeas, peanuts, peas;
- Fruits: mango, orange, lemon, avocado, banana, papaya, apple, pear;
- Whole grains: wheat, quinoa, corn, rice, amaranth;
- Soy derivatives: seitan, tofu, tempeh, soy protein, miso, tahine;
- Tubers and roots: all kinds of potatoes, cassava, yams;
- Vegetables: tomatoes, cabbage, chard, broccoli, chayote, spinach;
- Seeds: flaxseed, chia, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds;
- Oilseeds: almonds, chestnuts, walnuts, hazelnuts;
- Others: vegetable milks, coconut oil, olive oil.
How to become a vegan?
There are numerous ways to begin a vegan diet. First, it is always a good idea to consult a nutritionist if you have any health concerns that could be exacerbated by changing your eating habits.
Second, it is always recommended to conduct extensive research to understand what types of food are available on this type of diet and how to best replace the nutrients you were consuming from your previous diet.
Another useful tip is to take natural food supplements to help replace nutrients that you won't be getting in the same way.
In short, the most important thing to remember when embarking on a vegan diet is:
- Plan your meals: avoid a diet that is overly reliant on processed foods and bet on one which is rich in natural foods. It is critical to consume the necessary nutrients in order to avoid nutritional deficiencies.
- Go see a nutritionist specialist: nutritionists will know better than anyone else how to advise you to follow a balanced diet within the limits of the food you can and cannot eat, as well as a good natural food supplement to take daily during the first stage of the transition.
When it comes to vegan options, as you begin this new eating phase, you will discover new recipes and ingredients and gradually realize that becoming vegan is not as difficult as you thought it would be.
Fortunately, it is becoming increasingly easier for a person with these eating habits to dine out in Lisbon. What used to be a plate of salad as a "vegan or vegetarian option" has now grown significantly.
Fortunately, there is a vegan restaurant around the corner, making your life much easier and more appetizing.