Back to posts

August 12, 2022

Vegan Wines: A Booming Market

The vegan philosophy of life excludes any product with components that imply animal exploitation, and wines are no exception. It was thinking of lovers of a good glass of red, rosé, or white that vegan wines were created, today a growing category.

And not just vegans prefer to purchase this more environmentally friendly wine. There are those who, for not being able to stop eating meat, try to compensate in other products and areas of life.

What steps are involved in producing vegan wines?

Clarification is one of the various procedures in the creation of this beverage. To make the wine's color clearer, as the process's name implies, impurities and flaws, including proteins, disagreeable odors, and yeasts, are eliminated during this step. In the case of red wines, the tannins are mellowed, and oxidation is avoided.

Products like egg white (albumin), casein (milk protein), gelatin (animal collagen of bovine or pig origin), glue or fish oil, and chitin (product from the shell/crustacean shell) are added at this stage, and for this reason.

Even in tiny amounts, the drink contains animal proteins, which makes it inappropriate for vegans to consume because they are not only concerned with nutritional considerations. Since more individuals are adopting this way of thinking daily, market bets that offer alternatives that align with their preferences are profitable.

What goods replace those with an animal origin?

For the clarifying stage, carbon products, bentonite (clay base), activated carbon, limestone, silica, vegetable casein, potatoes, peas, and even seaweed are the most frequently used substitutes for animal-based agents.

You may be familiar with terms like natural wine, organic wine, or biodynamic wine. It is critical to note that these wines may or may not be vegan, despite the misleading name of the category.

A wine that is organically cultivated is produced without the use of synthetic fertilizers, pesticides, or herbicides. Natural winemaking attempts to showcase the true qualities of the grape and the land. In contrast, biodynamic winemaking prioritizes the harmony between the complete system surrounding the wine (vineyard, soil, climate, and people) (minimum intervention in the winery).

Although they are more "environmentally friendly" methods and can be, in addition to all this, vegan, it is not guaranteed that they are.

The statement on the label whether the wine is vegan or not is optional by the brand. However, given that this is a growing market, producers make a point of printing this information on the package, making it easy to understand whether the wine is free of animal products.

Despite the existence of certification organizations, producers are not always prepared to pay the price they demand the certificate. The words "unfiltered" or "natural self-clarification methods" on the label denote the absence of a clarifying agent from the wine-making process, making it vegan.

Portugal is known for its incredible wines from north to south of the country. One of your favorite brands may be already producing a vegan wine, so it is not difficult to find one you like. If, on the other hand, you are struggling, try going to a vegan restaurant to get to know the choices that the already knowledgeable owners of the market have opted for!